It's a Mystery 11/30/09

Mystery Awards Wrap-Up

The following mystery awards have been presented in 2009 for books published in 2008.  The titles can be found in the mystery section unless otherwise indicated.

Agatha Awards (named in honor of Agatha Christie)

     Best Novel:                                      The Cruelest Month by Louise Penny

     Best First Novel:                                Death of a Cozy Writer by G.M. Malliet

Anthony Awards (named for one of the founders of the Mystery Writers of America)

     Best Mystery Novel:                           Brass Verdict by Michael Connelly (Fiction)

     Best First Mystery:                            Girl With the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson (Fiction)

     Best Paperback Original:                     State of the Onion by Julie Hyzy

Barry Awards (presented at the Boucheron World Mystery Convention)

     Best Novel:                                      The Draining Lake by Arnaldur Indridason (under Arnaldur)

     Best First Novel:                               Child 44 by Tom Rob Smith (Fiction)

     Best British Crime Novel:                     Girl With the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson (Fiction)

Dagger Awards (presented by the Crime Writers' Association)

     International Dagger:                         Chalk Circle Man by Fred Vargas

     Ian Fleming Dagger:                           Last Child by John Hart (Fiction)

Edgar Awards (named in honor of Edgar Allan Poe by the Mystery Writers of America)

     Grand Masters:                                 James Lee Burke and Sue Grafton

     Best Mystery Novel:                           Blue Heaven by C.J. Box (Fiction)

     Best Paperback Original:                     China Lake by Meg Gardiner (PB Fiction)

Macavity Awards (named for T.S. Eliot's Macavity the Mystery Cat, presented by Mystery Readers International)
     Best Mystery Novel                             Where Memories Lie by Deborah Crombie  

     Best First Mystery Novel                     Girl With the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson (Fiction)

     Sue Feder Historical Mystery Award      A Royal Pain by Rhys Bowen

Shamus Awards (presented by the Private Eye Writers of America)

     Best P.I. Paperback Original:                Snow Blind by Lori Armstrong


A sampling of titles to watch for in December and January:

     Death of a Valentine by M.C. Beaton (Jan. - Hamish Macbeth)

     The First Rule by Robert Crais (Jan. - Joe Pike)

     The Poisoning at the Pub by Simon Brett (Dec. - Fethering Mystery)

     The Red Door by Charles Todd (Jan. - Ian Rutledge)

     U is for Undertow by Sue Grafton (Dec. - Kinsey Millhone)


The Holiday Mysteries are on display - Season's Readings!

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the characters shown in the image.