The Winners Are...1/22/07

The American Library Association announced the 2007 winners for children's literature today.


Newbery Medal
The Higher Power of Lucky by Susan Patron

Newbery Honor Books
Penny From Heaven by Jennifer L. Holm
Hattie Big Sky by Kirby Larson
Rules by Cynthia Lord

Caldecott Medal
Flotsam illustrated by David Wiesner

Caldecott Honor Books
Gone Wild: An Endangered Animal Alphabet written and illustrated by David McLimans
Moses: When Harriet Tubman Led Her People to Freedom illustrated by Kadir Nelson, written by Carole Boston Weatherford

Theodor Seuss Geisel Beginning Reader Award
Zelda and Ivy: The Runaways written and illustrated by Laura McGee Kvasnosky

Geisel Honor Books
Mercy Watson Goes for a Ride written by Kate DiCamillo, illustrated by Chris Van Dusen
Move Over, Rover! written by Karen Beaumont, illustrated by Jane Dyer
Not a Box written and illustrated by Antoinette Portis

Stop in and check out one of these award winning reads!

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the characters shown in the image.