Skip to main content
close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.

Virtual Author Talk

Max Brallier - "The Last Kids on Earth"

2024-07-16 14:00:00 2024-07-16 14:30:00 America/New_York Virtual Author Talk Join us online. Streamed live. Westlake Porter Public Library -

Tuesday, July 16
2:00pm - 2:30pm

Add to Calendar 2024-07-16 14:00:00 2024-07-16 14:30:00 America/New_York Virtual Author Talk Join us online. Streamed live. Westlake Porter Public Library -

Join us online. Streamed live.

Would you survive a zombie apocalypse? Join us to talk with New York Times bestselling author Max Brallier about The Last Kids on Earth, both the book series and the animated series on Netflix. In this virtual event, Max will share how he came up with the different monsters and villains as well as the unique ways that Jack and his friends figure out to defeat them.

Ever since the monster apocalypse hit town, average thirteen year old Jack Sullivan has been living in his tree house, which he’s armed to the teeth with catapults and a moat, not to mention video games and an endless supply of Oreos and Mountain Dew scavenged from abandoned stores. But Jack alone is no match for the hordes of Zombies and Winged Wretches and Vine Thingies, and especially not for the eerily intelligent monster known only as Blarg. So Jack builds a team: his dorky best friend, Quint; the reformed middle school bully, Dirk; Jack’s loyal pet monster, Rover; and Jack’s crush, June. With their help, Jack is going to slay Blarg, achieve the ultimate Feat of Apocalyptic Success, and be average no longer! Can he do it?

 

About the Author 

Max Brallier is the New York Times bestselling author of more than fifty books, including the middle-grade series, The Last Kids on Earth. Under the pen name Jack Chabert, Max is the creator and author of the Eerie Elementary series and author of the New York Times bestselling graphic novel Poptropica: Mystery of the Map. He has also written books for properties including LEGO, Adventure Time, Regular Show, Steven Universe, and Uncle Grandpa. Max has written for adults as well, including the pick-your-own-path series Can YOU Survive the Zombie Apocalypse? and an entry in the zombie anthology Nights of the Living Dead. Max lives in Los Angeles with his wife and daughter.


Brought to you in partnership with the Library Speakers Consortium. Visit our site to see all events, register and explore recordings of past events.

AGE GROUP: | Tweens | Elementary (K-4) | All Ages |

EVENT TYPE: | Books and Authors |

TAGS: | LSC |

Westlake Porter Public Library

Phone: (440) 871-2600
Fax: (440) 871-6969

Hours
Mon, Jul 15 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Jul 16 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Jul 17 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Jul 18 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Fri, Jul 19 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Jul 20 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Jul 21 1:00PM to 5:00PM
Mon, Jul 15 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Jul 16 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Jul 17 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Jul 18 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Fri, Jul 19 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Jul 20 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Jul 21 1:00PM to 5:00PM

About the branch

Westlake Porter Public Library is an independent public library serving the residents of the city of Westlake, western Cuyahoga County and eastern Lorain County. The library is located at 27333 Center Ridge Road in Westlake, Ohio. Anyone who lives, works, owns property, or goes to school in Ohio can register for a free library card.

Upcoming events

Thu, Jul 18, 10:00am - 10:30am
Friends Pavilion
Registration is now closed

Thu, Jul 18, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Thu, Jul 18, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Craft Room

Thu, Jul 18, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Technology Training Lab

Fri, Jul 19, 10:30am - 11:30am
Friends Pavilion

Fri, Jul 19, 4:00pm - 4:30pm
Storytime Room

Sat, Jul 20, 10:30am - 11:00am
Storytime Room

Sat, Jul 20, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Porter Room

Sat, Jul 20, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Craft Room

Sun, Jul 21, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Craft Room

Sun, Jul 21, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Storytime Room

Mon, Jul 22, 9:00am - 9:00pm

Mon, Jul 22, 1:00pm - 7:00pm
Porter Room

Tue, Jul 23, 9:30am - 9:50am
Storytime Room

Canceled
Tue, Jul 23, 10:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Jul 23, 2:00pm - 2:30pm
Storytime Room

Tue, Jul 23, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Dover Room

Wed, Jul 24, 11:00am - 11:30am
Storytime Room

Wed, Jul 24, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Friends Pavilion

Wed, Jul 24, 4:30pm - 6:00pm
Storytime Room

Wed, Jul 24, 7:00pm - 7:30pm
Storytime Room

Thu, Jul 25, 1:00pm - 2:30pm
Craft Room

Thu, Jul 25, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Craft Room

Thu, Jul 25, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Technology Training Lab

Thu, Jul 25, 6:30pm - 7:15pm
Storytime Room

Fri, Jul 26, 4:30pm - 5:30pm
Craft Room
Registration opens Friday, July 19 2024 at 9:00am

Sat, Jul 27, 10:30am - 11:00am
Storytime Room

Sat, Jul 27, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
Technology Training Lab
Registration opens Saturday, July 20 2024 at 9:00am

Sun, Jul 28, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Storytime Room
Registration opens Sunday, July 21 2024 at 9:00am

Mon, Jul 29, 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Porter Room

Tue, Jul 30, 2:00pm - 2:30pm
Storytime Room
Registration opens Tuesday, July 23 2024 at 9:00am

Tue, Jul 30, 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Makerspace

Wed, Jul 31, 11:00am - 11:30am
Storytime Room

Wed, Jul 31, 4:30pm - 6:00pm
Storytime Room

Wed, Jul 31, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Dover Room

Wed, Jul 31, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Porter Room

Thu, Aug 01, 10:00am - 11:30am
Technology Training Lab
Registration opens Thursday, July 25 2024 at 9:00am

Thu, Aug 01, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Storytime Room
Registration opens Thursday, July 25 2024 at 9:00am

Thu, Aug 01, 1:00pm - 7:00pm
Porter Room

Thu, Aug 01, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Zoom Programming 1
Registration opens Thursday, July 25 2024 at 9:00am

Sat, Aug 03, 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat, Aug 03, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Craft Room
Registration opens Saturday, July 27 2024 at 9:00am

Sun, Aug 04, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Craft Room
Registration opens Sunday, July 28 2024 at 9:00am

Mon, Aug 05, 9:00am - 9:00pm
Registration opens Monday, July 29 2024 at 9:00am

Tue, Aug 06, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Porter Room

Wed, Aug 07, 6:30pm - 8:30pm
Dover Room

Wed, Aug 07, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Makerspace
Registration opens Wednesday, July 31 2024 at 9:00am

Thu, Aug 08, 10:00am - 11:30am
Technology Training Lab
Registration opens Thursday, August 1 2024 at 9:00am

Thu, Aug 08, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Storytime Room
Registration opens Thursday, August 1 2024 at 9:00am

Thu, Aug 08, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Friends Pavilion

Thu, Aug 08, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Technology Training Lab

Fri, Aug 09, 10:30am - 11:00am
Dover Room

Fri, Aug 09, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Storytime Room

Sat, Aug 10, 10:30am - 11:00am
Dover Room

Sun, Aug 11, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Storytime Room

Tue, Aug 13, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Porter Room,Zoom Programming 2

Tue, Aug 13, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Dover Room

Wed, Aug 14, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Storytime Room
Registration opens Wednesday, August 7 2024 at 9:00am

Thu, Aug 15, 10:00am - 10:30am
Friends Pavilion
Registration opens Thursday, August 8 2024 at 9:00am

Thu, Aug 15, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Zoom Programming 1
Registration opens Thursday, August 8 2024 at 9:00am

Thu, Aug 15, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Dover Room

Fri, Aug 16, 10:30am - 11:30am
Dover Room

Sat, Aug 17, 10:30am - 11:00am
Storytime Room

Sat, Aug 17, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Porter Room

Sat, Aug 17, 1:00pm - 2:30pm
Craft Room
Registration opens Saturday, August 10 2024 at 9:00am