close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

The Long History of Slavery, Resistance, & Abolition (Live)

One Community Reads

2020-09-29 19:00:00 2020-09-29 20:30:00 America/New_York The Long History of Slavery, Resistance, & Abolition (Live) Join Prof. Marcus Rediker of the University of Pittsburgh on Zoom as he discusses the history of slave resistance, rebellions, and the efforts of abolitionists to end the slave trade. Westlake Porter Public Library

Tuesday, September 29
7:00pm - 8:30pm

Add to Calendar 2020-09-29 19:00:00 2020-09-29 20:30:00 America/New_York The Long History of Slavery, Resistance, & Abolition (Live) Join Prof. Marcus Rediker of the University of Pittsburgh on Zoom as he discusses the history of slave resistance, rebellions, and the efforts of abolitionists to end the slave trade. Westlake Porter Public Library

Westlake Porter Public Library

Zoom (Depricated)

Join Prof. Marcus Rediker of the University of Pittsburgh on Zoom as he discusses the history of slave resistance, rebellions, and the efforts of abolitionists to end the slave trade.

***THIS IS AN ONLINE ONLY EVENT VIA ZOOM***

This talk will be based on Dr. Rediker's decades of research he has conducted into African American slavery, resistance, and rebellion in the New World.  He will also discuss his latest research projects in this informative and educational talk.

Marcus Rediker is Distinguished Professor of Atlantic History at the University of Pittsburgh, where he has taught since 1994.  He is the author of The Fearless Benjamin Lay: The Quaker Dwarf Who Became the First Revolutionary Abolitionist, The Slave Ship: A Human History, The Amistad Rebellion: An Atlantic Odyssey of Slavery and FreedomThe Many-Headed Hydra: Sailors, Slaves, and Commoners and the Hidden History of the Revolutionary Atlantic (with Peter Linebaugh), and Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea. Tony Buba's documentary film The Ghosts of Amistad is based Dr. Rediker's book The Amistad Rebellion.


This event is part of the One Community Reads: Racial Equity in America program. Your nine local library systems invite you to participate in Northeast Ohio’s largest book club, One Community Reads: Racial Equity in America, throughout August—December 2020. The program will allow readers to learn about and reflect on race, history, and a more just future locally and nationally. Please learn more and get involved at onecommunityreads.org.

AGE GROUP: | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | History and Genealogy |

TAGS: | One Community Reads | history |

Westlake Porter Public Library

Phone: (440) 871-2600
Fax: (440) 871-6969

Hours
Mon, May 10 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, May 11 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, May 12 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, May 13 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Fri, May 14 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, May 15 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, May 16 1:00PM to 5:00PM
Mon, May 10 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, May 11 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, May 12 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, May 13 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Fri, May 14 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, May 15 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, May 16 1:00PM to 5:00PM

About the branch

Westlake Porter Public Library is an independent public library serving the residents of the city of Westlake, western Cuyahoga County and eastern Lorain County. The library is located at 27333 Center Ridge Road in Westlake, Ohio. Anyone who lives, works, owns property, or goes to school in Ohio can register for a free library card.

Upcoming events

Sat, May 15, 9:00am - 6:00pm

Sat, May 15, 9:00am - 6:00pm

Sat, May 15, 2:00pm - 2:45pm
Zoom Programming 1
Registration is now closed

Sun, May 16, 1:00pm - 5:00pm

Mon, May 17, 9:00am - 9:00pm
This event is full

Mon, May 17, 9:00am - 9:00pm

Mon, May 17, 9:00am - 9:00pm

Mon, May 17, 9:00am - 9:00pm

Mon, May 17, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Zoom Programming 1

Tue, May 18, 9:00am - 9:00pm

Tue, May 18, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, May 18, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Zoom Programming 2

Wed, May 19, 9:00am - 9:00pm

Wed, May 19, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Zoom Programming 1

Wed, May 19, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Zoom Programming 1

Thu, May 20, 9:00am - 9:00pm

Fri, May 21, 9:00am - 6:00pm

Fri, May 21, 9:30am - 10:00am
Reading Garden

Fri, May 21, 10:30am - 11:00am
Reading Garden

Fri, May 21, 4:00pm - 4:45pm
Zoom Programming 1
This event is full

Sat, May 22, 9:00am - 6:00pm

Sat, May 22, 11:00am - 11:30am
Zoom Programming 1

Mon, May 24, 9:00am - 9:00pm
Registration opens Monday, May 17 2021 at 9:00am

Mon, May 24, 1:00pm - 7:00pm
Porter Room

Mon, May 24, 4:30pm - 5:00pm
Zoom Programming 1

Mon, May 24, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Zoom Programming 1

Wed, May 26, 12:00pm - 12:45pm
Zoom Programming 2

Wed, May 26, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Zoom Programming 1

Wed, May 26, 7:00pm - 7:30pm
Zoom Programming 1
Registration opens Wednesday, May 19 2021 at 9:00am

Wed, May 26, 8:00pm - 9:00pm
Youth Services
Registration opens Wednesday, May 26 2021 at 9:00am

Mon, May 31, 9:15am - 11:45am

Tue, Jun 01, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Zoom Programming 1

Wed, Jun 02, 6:30pm - 8:30pm

Thu, Jun 03, 1:00pm - 7:00pm
Porter Room

Fri, Jun 04, 4:00pm - 4:30pm

Fri, Jun 04, 4:00pm - 4:45pm
Reading Garden
Registration opens Friday, May 28 2021 at 9:00am

Sat, Jun 05, 11:00am - 11:30am
Zoom Programming 2
Registration opens Saturday, June 5 2021 at 9:00am

Mon, Jun 07, 9:00am - 9:00pm
Registration opens Monday, May 31 2021 at 9:00am

Mon, Jun 07, 9:00am - 9:00pm
Registration opens Monday, May 31 2021 at 9:00am

Mon, Jun 07, 9:00am - 9:00pm
Registration opens Monday, May 31 2021 at 9:00am

Mon, Jun 07, 9:00am - 9:00pm
Registration opens Monday, May 31 2021 at 9:00am

Tue, Jun 08, 9:00am - 9:00pm
Registration opens Wednesday, June 2 2021 at 9:00am

Tue, Jun 08, 10:00am - 10:30am
Reading Garden
Registration opens Tuesday, June 1 2021 at 9:00am

Tue, Jun 08, 11:00am - 11:45am
Zoom Programming 1

Tue, Jun 08, 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Zoom Programming 1

Tue, Jun 08, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Zoom Programming 1

Wed, Jun 09, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Zoom Programming 1
Registration opens Wednesday, June 2 2021 at 9:00am

Wed, Jun 09, 7:00pm - 7:30pm
Reading Garden
Registration opens Wednesday, June 2 2021 at 9:00am

Thu, Jun 10, 1:00pm - 1:30pm
Zoom Programming 2
Registration opens Thursday, June 3 2021 at 9:00am

Thu, Jun 10, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Zoom Programming 1
Registration opens Thursday, June 3 2021 at 9:00am

Fri, Jun 11, 9:00pm - 11:00pm

Sat, Jun 12, 2:00pm - 2:45pm
Zoom Programming 2
Registration opens Saturday, May 29 2021 at 9:00am

Sun, Jun 13, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Reading Garden
Registration opens Sunday, June 6 2021 at 9:00am

Mon, Jun 14, 9:00am - 9:30am
Postage Stamp/Parking Lot Field

Mon, Jun 14, 3:00pm - 3:30pm
Zoom Programming 1
Registration opens Saturday, June 5 2021 at 9:00am