close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Tuesday Evening Book Discussion (ONLINE)

Writers & Lovers

2020-06-09 19:00:00 2020-06-09 20:30:00 America/New_York Tuesday Evening Book Discussion (ONLINE) Westlake Porter Public Library

Tuesday, June 09
7:00pm - 8:30pm

Add to Calendar 2020-06-09 19:00:00 2020-06-09 20:30:00 America/New_York Tuesday Evening Book Discussion (ONLINE) As a continued precaution to prevent the spread of COVID-19, this book discussion will be held on Zoom. Digital copies of the book are available on Hoopla. Registration required. Instructions below. Westlake Porter Public Library

As a continued precaution to prevent the spread of COVID-19, this book discussion will be held on Zoom. Digital copies of the book are available on Hoopla. Registration required. Instructions below.

[This book club meets every second Tuesday of the month at 7 pm]

Join us online to discuss Writers & Lovers by Lily King:

"Blindsided by her mother’s sudden death, and wrecked by a recent love affair, Casey Peabody has arrived in Massachusetts in the summer of 1997 without a plan. Her mail consists of wedding invitations and final notices from debt collectors. A former child golf prodigy, she now waits tables in Harvard Square and rents a tiny, moldy room at the side of a garage where she works on the novel she’s been writing for six years. At thirty-one, Casey is still clutching onto something nearly all her old friends have let go of: the determination to live a creative life. When she falls for two very different men at the same time, her world fractures even more. Casey’s fight to fulfill her creative ambitions and balance the conflicting demands of art and life is challenged in ways that push her to the brink."

In order to participate, please REGISTER to get an invitation to the online book discussion on Zoom. You can join using a Desktop, Laptop, Mobile Phone, Tablet, or Chromebook. While it is not necessary to sign up for a free Zoom account, for best results we recommend DOWNLOADING Zoom Meeting Room Client (for desktops and laptops) or the Zoom Cloud Meetings App (from your phone or tablet app store) before our discussion. Downloading should take a few minutes. Participants without a computer, tablet or smartphone can join the discussion using a traditional phone.

For those who are unable to get a physical copy of the book, please visit Hoopla Digital to sign up for an account using your WPPL library card. This will allow you to borrow and download Writers & Lovers.

If you have any questions, please email: frances.brawner@westlakelibrary.org

AGE GROUP: | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | Books and Authors |

TAGS: | |

Westlake Porter Public Library

Phone: (440) 871-2600
Fax: (440) 871-6969

Hours
Mon, Sep 21 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Sep 22 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Sep 23 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Sep 24 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Fri, Sep 25 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Sep 26 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Sep 27 1:00PM to 5:00PM
Mon, Sep 21 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Sep 22 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Sep 23 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Sep 24 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Fri, Sep 25 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Sep 26 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Sep 27 1:00PM to 5:00PM

About the library

Westlake Porter Public Library is an independent public library serving the residents of the city of Westlake, western Cuyahoga County and eastern Lorain County. The library is located at 27333 Center Ridge Road in Westlake, Ohio. Anyone who lives, works, owns property, or goes to school in Ohio can register for a free library card.

Upcoming events

Wed, Sep 23, 9:00am - 9:00pm

Wed, Sep 23, 11:00am - 11:30am
Zoom
Registration is now closed

Thu, Sep 24, 11:00am - 11:30am
Zoom

Thu, Sep 24, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Zoom

Fri, Sep 25, 11:00am - 11:30am

Sat, Sep 26, 11:00am - 11:30am

Sun, Sep 27, 1:00pm - 5:00pm

Mon, Sep 28, 9:00am - 9:00pm

Mon, Sep 28, 11:00am - 11:30am

Mon, Sep 28, 1:00pm - 7:00pm
Porter Room

Tue, Sep 29, 11:00am - 11:30am
Zoom

Wed, Sep 30, 11:00am - 11:30am

Wed, Sep 30, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Zoom

Wed, Sep 30, 6:30pm - 7:00pm
Zoom

Thu, Oct 01, 11:00am - 11:30am

Thu, Oct 01, 1:00pm - 7:00pm
Porter Room

Thu, Oct 01, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Zoom

Fri, Oct 02, All day
This event is full

Sat, Oct 03, 9:00am - 12:00pm

Sat, Oct 03, 11:00am - 11:30am
Zoom
Registration opens Saturday, September 26 2020 at 9:00am

Sun, Oct 04, 2:00pm - 2:30pm
Zoom

Mon, Oct 05, 9:00am - 8:00pm

Tue, Oct 06, 9:00am - 9:00pm

Tue, Oct 06, 11:00am - 11:30am
Zoom
Registration opens Tuesday, September 29 2020 at 9:00am

Tue, Oct 06, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Zoom

Rescheduled
Tue, Oct 06, 7:00pm - 8:15pm
New date Tuesday, August 11, 7:00pm - 8:15pm

Tue, Oct 06, 7:00pm - 8:15pm

Wed, Oct 07, 11:00am - 11:30am

Wed, Oct 07, 6:30pm - 7:00pm
Zoom

Wed, Oct 07, 7:00pm - 8:00pm

Thu, Oct 08, 11:00am - 11:30am

Thu, Oct 08, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Zoom

Fri, Oct 09, All day
Registration opens Friday, October 2 2020 at 9:00am

Fri, Oct 09, 9:00am - 6:00pm

Fri, Oct 09, 11:00am - 11:30am

Sat, Oct 10, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Zoom
Registration opens Saturday, September 26 2020 at 9:00am

Sun, Oct 11, 2:00pm - 2:45pm
Zoom
Registration opens Sunday, October 4 2020 at 9:00am

Mon, Oct 12, 9:00am - 8:00pm

Mon, Oct 12, 11:00am - 11:30am

Mon, Oct 12, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Zoom

Tue, Oct 13, 11:00am - 11:30am
Registration opens Tuesday, October 6 2020 at 9:00am

Tue, Oct 13, 5:30pm - 8:30pm
Porter Room

Tue, Oct 13, 6:00pm - 9:00pm

Wed, Oct 14, 11:00am - 11:30am

Wed, Oct 14, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
Zoom

Wed, Oct 14, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Zoom

Wed, Oct 14, 6:30pm - 7:00pm
Zoom
Registration opens Wednesday, October 7 2020 at 9:00am

Thu, Oct 15, 11:00am - 11:30am

Thu, Oct 15, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Zoom

Thu, Oct 15, 5:30pm - 8:30pm
Dover Room

Fri, Oct 16, 4:00pm - 4:45pm
Zoom

Sat, Oct 17, All day
Registration opens Saturday, October 10 2020 at 9:00am

Canceled
Sat, Oct 17, 9:30am - 11:30am

Sat, Oct 17, 11:00am - 11:30am
Zoom

Sat, Oct 17, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Zoom

Mon, Oct 19, 9:00am - 9:00pm

Mon, Oct 19, 9:00am - 8:00pm

Mon, Oct 19, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
This event is full

Tue, Oct 20, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Zoom

Tue, Oct 20, 7:00pm - 10:00pm

Canceled
Wed, Oct 21, 11:00am - 11:30am

Wed, Oct 21, 11:00am - 11:30am

Wed, Oct 21, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
Zoom

Wed, Oct 21, 6:30pm - 8:45pm
Board Room

Thu, Oct 22, 11:00am - 11:30am

Thu, Oct 22, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Zoom

Fri, Oct 23, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Zoom