close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.

Virtual Author Talk

Dr. Michele Borba - "Thrivers"

2022-09-08 14:00:00 2022-09-08 15:00:00 America/New_York Virtual Author Talk Join us online for a conversation with bestselling author, Dr. Michele Borba, as she discusses her book, Thrivers: Surprising Reasons Why Some Kids Struggle and Others Thrive. Streamed live. Westlake Porter Public Library - Online

Thursday, September 08
2:00pm - 3:00pm

Add to Calendar 2022-09-08 14:00:00 2022-09-08 15:00:00 America/New_York Virtual Author Talk Join us online for a conversation with bestselling author, Dr. Michele Borba, as she discusses her book, Thrivers: Surprising Reasons Why Some Kids Struggle and Others Thrive. Streamed live. Westlake Porter Public Library - Online

Join us online for a conversation with bestselling author, Dr. Michele Borba, as she discusses her book, Thrivers: Surprising Reasons Why Some Kids Struggle and Others Thrive. Streamed live.

Data shows that today’s youth are the loneliest, most stressed, and risk-averse on record. Though well-educated, they are failing to launch in real life. So how can we teach them to be mentally strong and more successful? Dr. Michele Borba empowers educators and parents to help kids thrive in today’s fast-paced, digital-driven, often uncertain world. Through her research, she found the difference between those who struggle and those who succeed comes down to the personal traits that set Thrivers apart and set them up for happiness and a greater potential later in life. She offers practical, actionable ways to develop these Thrivers traits for kids and shows you how to teach them to cope today so that they can flourish tomorrow in school and life. These are lessons that will last a lifetime.

Michele Borba, Ed. D., the author of UnSelfie: Why Empathetic Kids Succeed in Our All-About-Me World, is an internationally renowned educational psychologist and expert in parenting, bullying, and character development. She has spoken to over one million participants on five continents. She has been a regular NBC contributor who regularly appears on Today and has been featured as an expert on Dateline, The View, Dr. Phil, NBC Nightly News, Fox & Friends, Dr. Oz, The Early Show, and many others.


Brought to you in partnership with the Library Speakers Consortium. Visit our site to see all events, register and explore recordings of past events.

AGE GROUP: | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | Education/Lifelong Learning | Books and Authors |

TAGS: | LSC |

Westlake Porter Public Library

Phone: (440) 871-2600
Fax: (440) 871-6969

Hours
Mon, Oct 03 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Oct 04 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Oct 05 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Oct 06 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Fri, Oct 07 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Oct 08 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Oct 09 1:00PM to 5:00PM
Mon, Oct 03 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Oct 04 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Oct 05 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Oct 06 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Fri, Oct 07 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Oct 08 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Oct 09 1:00PM to 5:00PM

About the branch

Westlake Porter Public Library is an independent public library serving the residents of the city of Westlake, western Cuyahoga County and eastern Lorain County. The library is located at 27333 Center Ridge Road in Westlake, Ohio. Anyone who lives, works, owns property, or goes to school in Ohio can register for a free library card.

Upcoming events

Wed, Oct 05, 1:00pm - 1:30pm
Storytime Room
Registration is now closed

Wed, Oct 05, 6:30pm - 8:30pm
Dover Room

Wed, Oct 05, 7:00pm - 7:30pm
Storytime Room

Thu, Oct 06, 9:30am - 10:00am
Storytime Room
This event is full

Thu, Oct 06, 10:00am - 11:30am
Technology Training Lab

Thu, Oct 06, 10:15am - 10:45am
Storytime Room
This event is full

Thu, Oct 06, 1:00pm - 7:00pm
Porter Room

Thu, Oct 06, 4:00pm - 4:45pm
Storytime Room

Thu, Oct 06, 6:30pm - 7:15pm
Storytime Room

Fri, Oct 07, 9:30am - 10:00am
Storytime Room

Sat, Oct 08, 10:00am - 1:00pm
Technology Training Lab

Sat, Oct 08, 10:30am - 11:00am
Storytime Room

Sat, Oct 08, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Craft Room

Sun, Oct 09, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Storytime Room
This event is full

Mon, Oct 10, 3:30pm - 5:30pm
Porter Room

Tue, Oct 11, 9:00am - 9:00pm

Tue, Oct 11, 9:30am - 10:00am
Storytime Room

Tue, Oct 11, 10:15am - 10:45am
Storytime Room
This event is full

Tue, Oct 11, 11:00am - 11:30am
Storytime Room

Tue, Oct 11, 4:30pm - 6:00pm
Storytime Room

Tue, Oct 11, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Dover Room,Zoom Programming 2

Wed, Oct 12, 1:00pm - 1:30pm
Storytime Room

Wed, Oct 12, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Zoom Programming 1

Wed, Oct 12, 7:00pm - 7:30pm
Storytime Room

Thu, Oct 13, 9:30am - 10:00am
Storytime Room
Registration opens Thursday, October 6 2022 at 9:00am

Thu, Oct 13, 10:15am - 10:45am
Storytime Room
Registration opens Thursday, October 6 2022 at 9:00am

Thu, Oct 13, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Zoom Programming 1
Registration opens Thursday, October 6 2022 at 9:00am

Thu, Oct 13, 6:00pm - 8:30pm
Dover Room

Fri, Oct 14, 9:30am - 10:00am
Dover Room

Fri, Oct 14, 10:30am - 11:00am
Dover Room

Fri, Oct 14, 4:00pm - 4:45pm
Storytime Room
Registration opens Friday, October 7 2022 at 9:00am

Sat, Oct 15, 9:30am - 10:00am
Dover Room

Sat, Oct 15, 10:00am - 11:00am
Technology Training Lab

Sat, Oct 15, 10:30am - 11:00am
Dover Room

Sat, Oct 15, 10:30am - 11:15am
This event is full

Sat, Oct 15, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Storytime Room
Registration opens Saturday, October 8 2022 at 9:00am

Mon, Oct 17, 9:00am - 9:00pm
Registration opens Monday, October 10 2022 at 9:00am

Mon, Oct 17, 9:00am - 9:00pm
Registration opens Monday, October 10 2022 at 9:00am

Mon, Oct 17, 10:00am - 10:30am
Storytime Room
Registration opens Monday, October 10 2022 at 9:00am

Mon, Oct 17, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Dover Room

Tue, Oct 18, 9:30am - 9:55am
Storytime Room
Registration opens Tuesday, October 11 2022 at 9:00am

Tue, Oct 18, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Zoom Programming 1,Conference Room

Canceled
Tue, Oct 18, 7:30pm - 8:00pm

Tue, Oct 18, 8:00pm - 9:00pm
ArtWalk

Wed, Oct 19, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Technology Training Lab

Thu, Oct 20, 9:30am - 8:00pm
Craft Room,Dover Room,Porter Room

Thu, Oct 20, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Storytime Room
Registration opens Thursday, October 13 2022 at 9:00am

Thu, Oct 20, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Zoom Programming 1

Thu, Oct 20, 6:30pm - 7:15pm
Storytime Room
Registration opens Thursday, October 13 2022 at 9:00am

Fri, Oct 21, 9:30am - 5:00pm
Craft Room,Dover Room,Porter Room

Fri, Oct 21, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Storytime Room

Sat, Oct 22, 9:30am - 3:00pm
Craft Room,Dover Room,Porter Room

Sat, Oct 22, 10:30am - 11:00am
Storytime Room
Registration opens Saturday, October 15 2022 at 9:00am

Sat, Oct 22, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Storytime Room

Sun, Oct 23, 1:15pm - 4:00pm
Craft Room,Dover Room,Porter Room

Sun, Oct 23, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Storytime Room

Mon, Oct 24, 4:30pm - 5:30pm
Craft Room
Registration opens Monday, October 17 2022 at 9:00am

Mon, Oct 24, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Technology Training Lab
Registration opens Monday, October 17 2022 at 9:00am

Tue, Oct 25, 10:00am - 11:30am
Technology Training Lab
Registration opens Tuesday, October 18 2022 at 9:00am

Tue, Oct 25, 4:30pm - 6:00pm
Storytime Room

Tue, Oct 25, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Porter Room

Wed, Oct 26, 9:00am - 9:00pm
Registration opens Wednesday, October 19 2022 at 9:00am

Wed, Oct 26, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Porter Room

Wed, Oct 26, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Craft Room

Fri, Oct 28, 4:00pm - 4:30pm
Storytime Room
Registration opens Friday, October 21 2022 at 9:00am

Sat, Oct 29, 10:30am - 11:00am
Storytime Room
Registration opens Saturday, October 22 2022 at 9:00am

Sat, Oct 29, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Storytime Room
Registration opens Saturday, October 22 2022 at 9:00am

Sun, Oct 30, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Storytime Room

Sun, Oct 30, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Dover Room,Craft Room
Registration opens Sunday, October 23 2022 at 9:00am

Sun, Oct 30, 3:00pm - 4:30pm
Porter Room

Tue, Nov 01, 9:00am - 9:00pm

Tue, Nov 01, 9:30am - 10:00am
Storytime Room
Registration opens Tuesday, October 25 2022 at 9:00am

Tue, Nov 01, 10:15am - 10:45am
Storytime Room
Registration opens Tuesday, October 25 2022 at 9:00am

Tue, Nov 01, 11:00am - 11:30am
Storytime Room
Registration opens Tuesday, October 25 2022 at 9:00am

Tue, Nov 01, 4:30pm - 5:15pm
Storytime Room
Registration opens Tuesday, October 25 2022 at 9:00am

Tue, Nov 01, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Porter Room

Wed, Nov 02, 9:00am - 9:00pm

Wed, Nov 02, 1:00pm - 1:30pm
Storytime Room
Registration opens Wednesday, October 26 2022 at 9:00am

Wed, Nov 02, 6:30pm - 8:30pm
Dover Room

Wed, Nov 02, 7:00pm - 7:30pm
Storytime Room
Registration opens Wednesday, October 26 2022 at 9:00am

Thu, Nov 03, 9:00am - 9:00pm

Thu, Nov 03, 9:30am - 10:00am
Storytime Room
Registration opens Thursday, October 27 2022 at 9:00am

Thu, Nov 03, 10:00am - 11:30am
Technology Training Lab
Registration opens Thursday, October 27 2022 at 9:00am

Thu, Nov 03, 10:15am - 10:45am
Storytime Room
Registration opens Thursday, October 27 2022 at 9:00am

Thu, Nov 03, 1:00pm - 7:00pm
Porter Room

Fri, Nov 04, 9:00am - 6:00pm

Fri, Nov 04, 10:30am - 11:15am
Storytime Room
Registration opens Friday, October 28 2022 at 9:00am

Fri, Nov 04, 7:00pm - 9:00pm