close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.

Virtual Author Talk

Randall Munroe - "What If? 2"

2023-01-31 14:00:00 2023-01-31 15:00:00 America/New_York Virtual Author Talk Join us online for a fun-filled chat with Randall Munroe about his new book What If? 2: Additional Serious Scientific Answers to Absurd Hypothetical Questions. Streamed live. Westlake Porter Public Library -

Tuesday, January 31
2:00pm - 3:00pm

Add to Calendar 2023-01-31 14:00:00 2023-01-31 15:00:00 America/New_York Virtual Author Talk Join us online for a fun-filled chat with Randall Munroe about his new book What If? 2: Additional Serious Scientific Answers to Absurd Hypothetical Questions. Streamed live. Westlake Porter Public Library -

Join us online for a fun-filled chat with Randall Munroe about his new book What If? 2: Additional Serious Scientific Answers to Absurd Hypothetical Questions. Streamed live.

The millions of people around the world who read and loved What If? still have questions, and those questions are getting stranger. Thank goodness xkcd creator Randall Munroe is here to help. Planning to ride a fire pole from the moon back to Earth? The hardest part is sticking the landing. Hoping to cool the atmosphere by opening everyone’s freezer door at the same time? Maybe it’s time for a brief introduction to thermodynamics. Want to know what would happen if you rode a helicopter blade, built a billion-story building, made a lava lamp out of lava, or jumped on a geyser as it erupted? Okay, if you insist. 

Before you go on a cosmic road trip, feed the residents of New York City to a T. rex, or fill every church with bananas, be sure to consult this practical guide for impractical ideas. Unfazed by absurdity, Randall consults the latest research on everything from swing-set physics to airplane-catapult design to clearly and concisely answer his readers’ questions. As he consistently demonstrates, you can learn a lot from examining how the world might work in very specific extreme circumstances.

Filled with bonkers science, boundless curiosity, and Randall’s signature stick-figure comics, What if? 2 provides his best answers yet to the weirdest questions you never thought to ask.

Randall Munroe is the creator of the webcomic xkcd and author of What If?: Serious Scientific Answers to Absurd Hypothetical Questions, Thing Explainer: Complicated Stuff in Simple Words, How To: Absurd Scientific Advice for Common Real World Problems, and What if? 2: Additional Serious Scientific Answers to Absurd Hypothetical Questions. Randall was born in Easton, Pennsylvania, and grew up outside Richmond, Virginia. After studying physics at Christopher Newport University, he got a job building robots at NASA Langley Research Center. In 2006 he left NASA to draw comics on the internet full time and has since been nominated for a Hugo Award three times. In 2013, the International Astronomical Union named an asteroid after him: asteroid 4942 Munroe is big enough to cause mass extinction if it ever hits a planet like Earth.


Brought to you in partnership with the Library Speakers Consortium. Visit our site to see all events, register and explore recordings of past events.

AGE GROUP: | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | Books and Authors |

TAGS: | LSC |

Westlake Porter Public Library

Phone: (440) 871-2600
Fax: (440) 871-6969

Hours
Mon, Jan 30 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Jan 31 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Feb 01 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Feb 02 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Fri, Feb 03 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Feb 04 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Feb 05 1:00PM to 5:00PM
Mon, Jan 30 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Jan 31 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Feb 01 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Feb 02 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Fri, Feb 03 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Feb 04 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Feb 05 1:00PM to 5:00PM

About the branch

Westlake Porter Public Library is an independent public library serving the residents of the city of Westlake, western Cuyahoga County and eastern Lorain County. The library is located at 27333 Center Ridge Road in Westlake, Ohio. Anyone who lives, works, owns property, or goes to school in Ohio can register for a free library card.

Upcoming events

Thu, Feb 02, 9:30am - 10:00am
Storytime Room

Thu, Feb 02, 10:00am - 11:30am
Technology Training Lab
Registration is now closed

Thu, Feb 02, 10:15am - 10:45am
Storytime Room

Thu, Feb 02, 1:00pm - 7:00pm
Porter Room

Canceled
Thu, Feb 02, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Fri, Feb 03, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Storytime Room

Sat, Feb 04, 10:30am - 11:00am
Storytime Room

Sat, Feb 04, 1:00pm - 2:30pm
Dover Room

Sat, Feb 04, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Storytime Room

Sat, Feb 04, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Porter Room

Sun, Feb 05, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Storytime Room

Mon, Feb 06, 9:00am - 9:00pm

Mon, Feb 06, 3:30pm - 5:30pm
Porter Room

Mon, Feb 06, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Dover Room

Tue, Feb 07, 9:30am - 10:00am
Storytime Room

Tue, Feb 07, 10:15am - 10:45am
Storytime Room

Tue, Feb 07, 11:00am - 11:30am
Storytime Room

Tue, Feb 07, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Dover Room
This event is full

Tue, Feb 07, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Porter Room

Wed, Feb 08, 1:00pm - 1:30pm
Storytime Room

Wed, Feb 08, 4:30pm - 6:00pm
Storytime Room

Wed, Feb 08, 7:00pm - 7:30pm
Storytime Room

Thu, Feb 09, 9:30am - 10:00am
Storytime Room

Thu, Feb 09, 10:15am - 10:45am
Storytime Room

Thu, Feb 09, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Zoom Programming 1

Thu, Feb 09, 6:30pm - 7:15pm
Storytime Room

Fri, Feb 10, 10:30am - 11:00am
Dover Room

Fri, Feb 10, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Storytime Room
Registration opens Friday, February 3 2023 at 9:00am

Fri, Feb 10, 4:00pm - 4:30pm
Storytime Room
Registration opens Friday, February 3 2023 at 9:00am

Sat, Feb 11, 10:00am - 1:00pm
Porter Room
Registration opens Saturday, February 4 2023 at 9:00am

Sat, Feb 11, 10:30am - 11:00am
Dover Room

Sat, Feb 11, 10:30am - 11:00am
Storytime Room

Sat, Feb 11, 1:00pm - 2:30pm
Craft Room
Registration opens Saturday, February 4 2023 at 9:00am

Sat, Feb 11, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Storytime Room

Sun, Feb 12, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Dover Room

Sun, Feb 12, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Storytime Room

Mon, Feb 13, 9:00am - 9:00pm
Registration opens Monday, February 6 2023 at 9:00am

Mon, Feb 13, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Dover Room

Mon, Feb 13, 3:30pm - 5:30pm
Porter Room

Mon, Feb 13, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Technology Training Lab
Registration opens Monday, February 6 2023 at 9:00am

Tue, Feb 14, 9:30am - 10:00am
Storytime Room

Tue, Feb 14, 10:15am - 10:45am
Storytime Room

Tue, Feb 14, 11:00am - 11:30am
Storytime Room

Rescheduled
Tue, Feb 14, 11:00am - 11:30am
New date Wednesday, February 15, 1:00pm - 1:30pm

Tue, Feb 14, 4:30pm - 5:15pm
Storytime Room
Registration opens Tuesday, February 7 2023 at 9:00am

Tue, Feb 14, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Porter Room,Zoom Programming 2

Wed, Feb 15, 1:00pm - 1:30pm
Storytime Room

Wed, Feb 15, 1:00pm - 1:30pm
Zoom Programming 1

Wed, Feb 15, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Porter Room

Wed, Feb 15, 4:30pm - 6:00pm
Storytime Room

Wed, Feb 15, 6:30pm - 8:30pm
Board Room

Wed, Feb 15, 7:00pm - 7:30pm
Storytime Room

Thu, Feb 16, 9:30am - 10:00am
Storytime Room

Thu, Feb 16, 10:00am - 11:30am
Technology Training Lab
Registration opens Thursday, February 9 2023 at 9:00am

Thu, Feb 16, 10:15am - 10:45am
Storytime Room

Thu, Feb 16, 6:00pm - 8:30pm
Porter Room

Fri, Feb 17, 9:30am - 10:00am
Dover Room

Fri, Feb 17, 11:30am - 12:30pm
Dover Room

Sat, Feb 18, 10:00am - 11:00am
Technology Training Lab

Sat, Feb 18, 10:30am - 11:00am
Storytime Room

Sat, Feb 18, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Online,Zoom Programming 1

Sat, Feb 18, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Storytime Room
Registration opens Saturday, February 11 2023 at 9:00am

Mon, Feb 20, 9:00am - 9:00pm
Registration opens Monday, February 13 2023 at 9:00am

Mon, Feb 20, 1:00pm - 2:30pm
Dover Room

Mon, Feb 20, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Porter Room

Tue, Feb 21, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Zoom Programming 2,Craft Room

Wed, Feb 22, 9:00am - 9:00pm
Registration opens Wednesday, February 15 2023 at 9:00am

Wed, Feb 22, 4:30pm - 6:00pm
Storytime Room

Wed, Feb 22, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Craft Room

Thu, Feb 23, 10:00am - 11:30am
Technology Training Lab
Registration opens Thursday, February 16 2023 at 9:00am

Thu, Feb 23, 10:00am - 10:30am
Storytime Room

Thu, Feb 23, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Zoom Programming 1

Fri, Feb 24, 4:00pm - 4:45pm
Storytime Room
Registration opens Friday, February 17 2023 at 9:00am

Sat, Feb 25, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Craft Room
Registration opens Saturday, February 18 2023 at 9:00am

Sat, Feb 25, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Craft Room
Registration opens Saturday, February 18 2023 at 9:00am

Sun, Feb 26, 1:30pm - 2:15pm
Storytime Room
Registration opens Sunday, February 19 2023 at 9:00am

Sun, Feb 26, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Craft Room
Registration opens Sunday, February 19 2023 at 9:00am

Mon, Feb 27, 10:00am - 10:30am
Storytime Room

Mon, Feb 27, 3:30pm - 5:30pm
Porter Room

Mon, Feb 27, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Porter Room

Tue, Feb 28, 9:30am - 9:55am
Storytime Room

Tue, Feb 28, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Dover Room

Wed, Mar 01, 4:15pm - 5:30pm
Porter Room
Registration opens Wednesday, February 22 2023 at 9:00am

Wed, Mar 01, 4:30pm - 6:00pm
Storytime Room

Wed, Mar 01, 6:30pm - 8:30pm
Dover Room

Thu, Mar 02, 1:00pm - 7:00pm
Porter Room

Fri, Mar 03, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Storytime Room

Sat, Mar 04, 10:30am - 11:00am
Storytime Room

Sat, Mar 04, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Storytime Room