Skip to main content
close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.

Virtual Author Talk

Rebecca Kuang (R. F. Kuang)- "Yellowface"

2024-05-21 19:00:00 2024-05-21 20:00:00 America/New_York Virtual Author Talk Talk will focus on her most recent work and Asian American representation in literature. Westlake Porter Public Library -

Tuesday, May 21
7:00pm - 8:00pm

Add to Calendar 2024-05-21 19:00:00 2024-05-21 20:00:00 America/New_York Virtual Author Talk Talk will focus on her most recent work and Asian American representation in literature. Westlake Porter Public Library -

Talk will focus on her most recent work and Asian American representation in literature.

You’re welcome to register for a thrilling conversation with Rebecca F. Kuang (R.F. Kuang) as she chats with us about her New York Times bestselling novel, Yellowface. Yellowface grapples with questions of diversity, racism, and cultural appropriation, as well as the terrifying alienation of social media.

In Yellowface, Authors June Hayward and Athena Liu were supposed to be twin rising stars. But Athena’s a literary darling. June Hayward is literally nobody. Who wants stories about basic white girls, June thinks.

So when June witnesses Athena’s death in a freak accident, she acts on impulse: she steals Athena’s just-finished masterpiece, an experimental novel about the unsung contributions of Chinese laborers during World War I.

So what if June edits Athena’s novel and sends it to her agent as her own work? So what if she lets her new publisher rebrand her as Juniper Song—complete with an ambiguously ethnic author photo? Doesn’t this piece of history deserve to be told, whoever the teller? That’s what June claims, and the New York Times bestseller list seems to agree.

But June can’t get away from Athena’s shadow, and emerging evidence threatens to bring June’s (stolen) success down around her. As June races to protect her secret, she discovers exactly how far she will go to keep what she thinks she deserves.

White lies, dark humor, and deadly consequences await within the pages of Yellowface. With its totally immersive first-person voice, Kuang’s novel is timely, razor-sharp, and eminently readable. Register to join the conversation! 

About the Author: Rebecca F. Kuang is the award-winning, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Poppy War trilogy, Babel: An Arcane History, and Yellowface. A Marshall Scholar, she has an MPhil in Chinese Studies from Cambridge and an MSc in Contemporary Chinese Studies from Oxford; she is now pursuing a PhD in East Asian Languages and Literatures at Yale, where she studies diaspora, contemporary Chinese literature, and Asian American literature.


Brought to you in partnership with the Library Speakers Consortium. Visit our site to see all events, register and explore recordings of past events.

AGE GROUP: | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | Books and Authors |

TAGS: | LSC |

Westlake Porter Public Library

Phone: (440) 871-2600
Fax: (440) 871-6969

Hours
Mon, May 13 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, May 14 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, May 15 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, May 16 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Fri, May 17 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, May 18 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, May 19 1:00PM to 5:00PM
Mon, May 13 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, May 14 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, May 15 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, May 16 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Fri, May 17 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, May 18 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, May 19 1:00PM to 5:00PM

About the branch

Westlake Porter Public Library is an independent public library serving the residents of the city of Westlake, western Cuyahoga County and eastern Lorain County. The library is located at 27333 Center Ridge Road in Westlake, Ohio. Anyone who lives, works, owns property, or goes to school in Ohio can register for a free library card.

Upcoming events

Sun, May 19, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Storytime Room

Mon, May 20, 9:00am - 9:00pm
This event is full

Mon, May 20, 9:00am - 9:00pm

Mon, May 20, 1:00pm - 2:30pm
Dover Room

Mon, May 20, 1:00pm - 7:00pm
Porter Room

Mon, May 20, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Dover Room

Tue, May 21, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Craft Room
This event is full

Thu, May 23, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Zoom Programming 1

Thu, May 23, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Technology Training Lab

Fri, May 24, 10:30am - 11:15am
Storytime Room

Fri, May 24, 4:00pm - 4:30pm
Storytime Room

Sat, May 25, 10:30am - 11:00am
Storytime Room

Sat, May 25, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Porter Room

Mon, May 27, 9:15am - 11:45am

Tue, May 28, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Porter Room

Wed, May 29, 9:00am - 9:00pm
Registration opens Wednesday, May 22 2024 at 9:00am

Wed, May 29, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Dover Room

Wed, May 29, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Porter Room

Sat, Jun 01, 10:30am - 11:00am
Storytime Room

Sat, Jun 01, 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Craft Room

Mon, Jun 03, 9:00am - 9:00pm
Registration opens Saturday, May 25 2024 at 9:00am

Mon, Jun 03, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Storytime Room
Registration opens Monday, May 27 2024 at 9:00am

Tue, Jun 04, 9:30am - 10:00am
Storytime Room

Tue, Jun 04, 10:15am - 10:45am
Storytime Room

Tue, Jun 04, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Porter Room

Tue, Jun 04, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Craft Room
Registration opens Tuesday, May 28 2024 at 9:00am

Tue, Jun 04, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Technology Training Lab

Wed, Jun 05, 1:00pm - 1:30pm
Storytime Room

Wed, Jun 05, 4:30pm - 6:00pm
Storytime Room

Wed, Jun 05, 6:00pm - 8:30pm
Porter Room

Wed, Jun 05, 6:30pm - 8:30pm
Dover Room

Wed, Jun 05, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Makerspace
Registration opens Wednesday, May 29 2024 at 9:00am

Thu, Jun 06, 10:00am - 11:30am
Technology Training Lab
Registration opens Thursday, May 30 2024 at 9:00am

Thu, Jun 06, 1:00pm - 7:00pm
Porter Room

Thu, Jun 06, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Zoom Programming 1
Registration opens Thursday, May 30 2024 at 9:00am

Thu, Jun 06, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Dover Room

Fri, Jun 07, 4:00pm - 4:45pm
Storytime Room
Registration opens Friday, May 31 2024 at 9:00am

Sat, Jun 08, 11:00am - 12:15pm
Storytime Room
Registration opens Saturday, June 1 2024 at 9:00am

Sat, Jun 08, 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat, Jun 08, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Craft Room
Registration opens Saturday, June 1 2024 at 9:00am

Sun, Jun 09, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Craft Room
Registration opens Sunday, June 2 2024 at 9:00am

Mon, Jun 10, 10:00am - 10:30am
Storytime Room

Mon, Jun 10, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Friends Pavilion
Registration opens Monday, June 3 2024 at 9:00am

Canceled
Mon, Jun 10, 7:00pm - 8:30pm

Tue, Jun 11, 9:30am - 10:00am
Storytime Room

Tue, Jun 11, 10:15am - 10:45am
Storytime Room

Tue, Jun 11, 2:00pm - 2:30pm
Storytime Room
Registration opens Tuesday, June 4 2024 at 9:00am

Tue, Jun 11, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Craft Room
Registration opens Tuesday, June 4 2024 at 9:00am

Tue, Jun 11, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Technology Training Lab

Tue, Jun 11, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Porter Room,Zoom Programming 2

Wed, Jun 12, 10:00am - 11:00am
Dover Room

Wed, Jun 12, 11:00am - 11:30am
Storytime Room

Wed, Jun 12, 1:00pm - 1:30pm
Storytime Room

Wed, Jun 12, 2:00pm - 2:30pm
Craft Room
Registration opens Wednesday, June 5 2024 at 9:00am

Wed, Jun 12, 4:30pm - 6:00pm
Storytime Room

Wed, Jun 12, 7:00pm - 7:30pm
Storytime Room

Wed, Jun 12, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Porter Room

Thu, Jun 13, 10:00am - 11:30am
Technology Training Lab
Registration opens Thursday, June 6 2024 at 9:00am

Thu, Jun 13, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Storytime Room
Registration opens Thursday, June 6 2024 at 9:00am

Thu, Jun 13, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Technology Training Lab
Registration opens Thursday, June 6 2024 at 9:00am

Thu, Jun 13, 6:30pm - 7:15pm
Storytime Room
Registration opens Thursday, June 6 2024 at 9:00am

Thu, Jun 13, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Conference Room

Fri, Jun 14, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Storytime Room

Sat, Jun 15, 10:30am - 11:00am
Storytime Room

Sat, Jun 15, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Dover Room

Sat, Jun 15, 1:00pm - 2:30pm
Porter Room
Registration opens Saturday, June 8 2024 at 9:00am

Sat, Jun 15, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Storytime Room

Sat, Jun 15, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Craft Room
Registration opens Saturday, June 8 2024 at 9:00am

Sun, Jun 16, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Storytime Room

Mon, Jun 17, 10:00am - 10:30am
Storytime Room
Registration opens Monday, June 10 2024 at 9:00am

Mon, Jun 17, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Friends Pavilion
Registration opens Monday, June 10 2024 at 9:00am

Tue, Jun 18, 9:30am - 10:00am
Storytime Room

Tue, Jun 18, 10:15am - 10:45am
Storytime Room

Tue, Jun 18, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
Dover Room
Registration opens Tuesday, June 11 2024 at 9:00am

Tue, Jun 18, 2:00pm - 2:30pm
Storytime Room
Registration opens Tuesday, June 11 2024 at 9:00am

Tue, Jun 18, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Craft Room