Skip to main content
close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.
Image for event: True Crime Book Club

Registration now closed

True Crime Book Club

2023-10-16 13:00:00 2023-10-16 14:30:00 America/New_York True Crime Book Club We will meet on the 3rd Monday of ever other month starting in January. This will be a great way to discover new and classic True Crime writing. Westlake Porter Public Library - Dover Room

Monday, October 16
1:00pm - 2:30pm

Add to Calendar 2023-10-16 13:00:00 2023-10-16 14:30:00 America/New_York True Crime Book Club We will meet on the 3rd Monday of ever other month starting in January. This will be a great way to discover new and classic True Crime writing. Westlake Porter Public Library - Dover Room

We will meet on the 3rd Monday of ever other month starting in January. This will be a great way to discover new and classic True Crime writing.

Join us for an exciting new book club at the Westlake Porter Public Library. We'll be delving into new and classic books of true crime—from murder, to robbery, heists, and arson we will touch on every aspect of humanity's darker instincts.

For October we will be reading and discussing Nothing but the Night: Leopold & Loeb and the Truth Behind the Murder That Rocked 1920s America by Greg King and Penny Wilson.

From Amazon:

Greg King and Penny Wilson turn the original crime of the century on its head in Nothing But the Night, a riveting new exploration of the murder trial of Leopold & Loeb.

Nearly a hundred years ago, two wealthy and privileged teenagers—Nathan Leopold and Richard Loeb—were charged and convicted in a gruesome crime that would lead to the original “Trial of the Century”. Even in Jazz Age Chicago, the murder was uniquely shocking for the motive of the killers: well-to-do Jewish scions, full of promise, had killed fourteen-year-old Bobby Franks for the thrill of it. The trial was made even more sensational by the revelation of a love affair between the defendants and by defense attorney Clarence Darrow, who delivered one of the most famous defense summations of all time to save the boys from the death penalty. The story of their mad folie à deux, with Loeb portrayed as the psychopathic mastermind and Leopold as his infatuated disciple, has been endlessly repeated and accepted by history as fact. And none of it is true.

Using twenty-first century investigative tools, forensics, and a modern understanding of the psychology of these infamous killers, Nothing but the Night turns history on its head. While Loeb has long been viewed as the architect behind the murders, King and Wilson’s new research points to Leopold as the dominant partner in the deadly relationship, uncovering a dark obsession with violence and sex. Nothing but the Night pulls readers into the troubled world of Leopold and Loeb, revealing a more horrifying tale of passion, obsession, and betrayal than history ever imagined.


View and print the list of books and check out WPPL's Book Discussion page for more book and movie clubs!

AGE GROUP: | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | Books and Authors |

TAGS: | True Crime | book discussion | book club |

Westlake Porter Public Library

Phone: (440) 871-2600
Fax: (440) 871-6969

Hours
Mon, Jul 15 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Jul 16 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Jul 17 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Jul 18 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Fri, Jul 19 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Jul 20 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Jul 21 1:00PM to 5:00PM
Mon, Jul 15 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Jul 16 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Jul 17 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Jul 18 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Fri, Jul 19 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Jul 20 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Jul 21 1:00PM to 5:00PM

About the branch

Westlake Porter Public Library is an independent public library serving the residents of the city of Westlake, western Cuyahoga County and eastern Lorain County. The library is located at 27333 Center Ridge Road in Westlake, Ohio. Anyone who lives, works, owns property, or goes to school in Ohio can register for a free library card.

Upcoming events

Thu, Jul 18, 10:00am - 10:30am
Friends Pavilion
Registration is now closed

Thu, Jul 18, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Thu, Jul 18, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Craft Room

Thu, Jul 18, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Technology Training Lab

Fri, Jul 19, 10:30am - 11:30am
Friends Pavilion

Fri, Jul 19, 4:00pm - 4:30pm
Storytime Room

Sat, Jul 20, 10:30am - 11:00am
Storytime Room

Sat, Jul 20, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Porter Room

Sat, Jul 20, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Craft Room

Sun, Jul 21, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Craft Room

Sun, Jul 21, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Storytime Room

Mon, Jul 22, 9:00am - 9:00pm

Mon, Jul 22, 1:00pm - 7:00pm
Porter Room

Tue, Jul 23, 9:30am - 9:50am
Storytime Room

Canceled
Tue, Jul 23, 10:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Jul 23, 2:00pm - 2:30pm
Storytime Room

Tue, Jul 23, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Dover Room

Wed, Jul 24, 11:00am - 11:30am
Storytime Room

Wed, Jul 24, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Friends Pavilion

Wed, Jul 24, 4:30pm - 6:00pm
Storytime Room

Wed, Jul 24, 7:00pm - 7:30pm
Storytime Room

Thu, Jul 25, 1:00pm - 2:30pm
Craft Room

Thu, Jul 25, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Craft Room

Thu, Jul 25, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Technology Training Lab

Thu, Jul 25, 6:30pm - 7:15pm
Storytime Room

Fri, Jul 26, 4:30pm - 5:30pm
Craft Room
Registration opens Friday, July 19 2024 at 9:00am

Sat, Jul 27, 10:30am - 11:00am
Storytime Room

Sat, Jul 27, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
Technology Training Lab
Registration opens Saturday, July 20 2024 at 9:00am

Sun, Jul 28, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Storytime Room
Registration opens Sunday, July 21 2024 at 9:00am

Mon, Jul 29, 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Porter Room

Tue, Jul 30, 2:00pm - 2:30pm
Storytime Room
Registration opens Tuesday, July 23 2024 at 9:00am

Tue, Jul 30, 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Makerspace

Wed, Jul 31, 11:00am - 11:30am
Storytime Room

Wed, Jul 31, 4:30pm - 6:00pm
Storytime Room

Wed, Jul 31, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Dover Room

Wed, Jul 31, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Porter Room

Thu, Aug 01, 10:00am - 11:30am
Technology Training Lab
Registration opens Thursday, July 25 2024 at 9:00am

Thu, Aug 01, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Storytime Room
Registration opens Thursday, July 25 2024 at 9:00am

Thu, Aug 01, 1:00pm - 7:00pm
Porter Room

Thu, Aug 01, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Zoom Programming 1
Registration opens Thursday, July 25 2024 at 9:00am

Sat, Aug 03, 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat, Aug 03, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Craft Room
Registration opens Saturday, July 27 2024 at 9:00am

Sun, Aug 04, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Craft Room
Registration opens Sunday, July 28 2024 at 9:00am

Mon, Aug 05, 9:00am - 9:00pm
Registration opens Monday, July 29 2024 at 9:00am

Tue, Aug 06, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Porter Room

Wed, Aug 07, 6:30pm - 8:30pm
Dover Room

Wed, Aug 07, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Makerspace
Registration opens Wednesday, July 31 2024 at 9:00am

Thu, Aug 08, 10:00am - 11:30am
Technology Training Lab
Registration opens Thursday, August 1 2024 at 9:00am

Thu, Aug 08, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Storytime Room
Registration opens Thursday, August 1 2024 at 9:00am

Thu, Aug 08, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Friends Pavilion

Thu, Aug 08, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Technology Training Lab

Fri, Aug 09, 10:30am - 11:00am
Dover Room

Fri, Aug 09, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Storytime Room

Sat, Aug 10, 10:30am - 11:00am
Dover Room

Sun, Aug 11, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Storytime Room

Tue, Aug 13, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Porter Room,Zoom Programming 2

Tue, Aug 13, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Dover Room

Wed, Aug 14, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Storytime Room
Registration opens Wednesday, August 7 2024 at 9:00am

Thu, Aug 15, 10:00am - 10:30am
Friends Pavilion
Registration opens Thursday, August 8 2024 at 9:00am

Thu, Aug 15, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Zoom Programming 1
Registration opens Thursday, August 8 2024 at 9:00am

Thu, Aug 15, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Dover Room

Fri, Aug 16, 10:30am - 11:30am
Dover Room

Sat, Aug 17, 10:30am - 11:00am
Storytime Room

Sat, Aug 17, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Porter Room

Sat, Aug 17, 1:00pm - 2:30pm
Craft Room
Registration opens Saturday, August 10 2024 at 9:00am