close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Speaker Series: Using Your Social Filter (Virtual)

Presented by Connecting for Kids

2021-02-01 19:00:00 2021-02-01 20:00:00 America/New_York Speaker Series: Using Your Social Filter (Virtual) Parents and caregivers will learn ways to help their child understand how words and actions can affect others and guide children ages 7-12 in knowing what is socially appropriate. Westlake Porter Public Library

Monday, February 01
7:00pm - 8:00pm

Add to Calendar 2021-02-01 19:00:00 2021-02-01 20:00:00 America/New_York Speaker Series: Using Your Social Filter (Virtual) Parents and caregivers will learn ways to help their child understand how words and actions can affect others and guide children ages 7-12 in knowing what is socially appropriate. Westlake Porter Public Library

Parents and caregivers will learn ways to help their child understand how words and actions can affect others and guide children ages 7-12 in knowing what is socially appropriate.

Does your child often say things that are either inappropriate or hurtful to someone’s feelings? Deciding what is OK to say or not say in a social situation can be tricky. Ellen Spear, MA, CCC-SLP, of Lakeshore Speech Therapy, LLC, will teach parents and caregivers ways to help their child understand how words and actions can affect others. Learn about “brain filters” and other tips to guide your child ages 7-12 in knowing what is socially appropriate. Register using the link below and you will be emailed information about how to join the program using the free Zoom app or by calling in using a toll-free number. This program is presented in partnership with Westlake Porter Public Library and is supported by a grant from the Knights of Columbus at St. Ladislas. This program is for adults only and a portion will be recorded. 

Due to grant funding, programs are open to residents of the Greater Cleveland area.

AGE GROUP: | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | Special Needs |

TAGS: | |

Westlake Porter Public Library

Phone: (440) 871-2600
Fax: (440) 871-6969

Hours
Mon, Feb 22 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Feb 23 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Feb 24 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Feb 25 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Fri, Feb 26 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Feb 27 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Feb 28 1:00PM to 5:00PM
Mon, Feb 22 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Feb 23 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Feb 24 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Feb 25 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Fri, Feb 26 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Feb 27 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Feb 28 1:00PM to 5:00PM

About the branch

Westlake Porter Public Library is an independent public library serving the residents of the city of Westlake, western Cuyahoga County and eastern Lorain County. The library is located at 27333 Center Ridge Road in Westlake, Ohio. Anyone who lives, works, owns property, or goes to school in Ohio can register for a free library card.

Upcoming events

Thu, Feb 25, 11:00am - 11:30am

Thu, Feb 25, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Zoom
Registration is now closed

Thu, Feb 25, 4:00pm - 5:15pm
Zoom Webinar
Registration is now closed

Fri, Feb 26, 11:00am - 11:30am

Fri, Feb 26, 4:00pm - 4:45pm
Zoom
This event is full

Sat, Feb 27, 11:00am - 11:30am
Zoom

Mon, Mar 01, 9:00am - 9:00pm

Mon, Mar 01, 9:00am - 9:00pm

Mon, Mar 01, 9:00am - 9:00pm
Registration opens Monday, March 1 2021 at 9:00am

Mon, Mar 01, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Mar 02, 9:00am - 9:00pm
This event is full

Tue, Mar 02, 11:00am - 11:30am
Zoom Programming 2

Tue, Mar 02, 1:00pm - 1:30pm

Tue, Mar 02, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Zoom Programming 2

Tue, Mar 02, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Zoom Programming 1

Thu, Mar 04, 1:00pm - 7:00pm
Porter Room

Thu, Mar 04, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Zoom Programming 1

Thu, Mar 04, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Zoom Programming 2

Fri, Mar 05, 11:00am - 11:30am

Sat, Mar 06, 9:00am - 6:00pm
Registration opens Saturday, February 27 2021 at 9:00am

Sat, Mar 06, 11:00am - 11:40am
Zoom Programming 1
This event is full

Mon, Mar 08, 9:00am - 9:00pm
Registration opens Monday, March 1 2021 at 9:00am

Mon, Mar 08, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Zoom

Tue, Mar 09, 11:00am - 11:30am
Zoom Programming 1
Registration opens Tuesday, March 2 2021 at 9:00am

Wed, Mar 10, 11:00am - 11:30am

Wed, Mar 10, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Zoom Programming 1

Wed, Mar 10, 6:30pm - 7:00pm
Zoom Programming 2
Registration opens Wednesday, March 3 2021 at 9:00am

Thu, Mar 11, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Zoom Programming 1

Fri, Mar 12, 11:00am - 11:30am

Fri, Mar 12, 4:00pm - 4:30pm

Sat, Mar 13, 11:00am - 11:30am
Zoom Programming 1
Registration opens Saturday, March 6 2021 at 9:00am

Sun, Mar 14, 2:00pm - 2:45pm
Zoom Programming 1
Registration opens Sunday, February 28 2021 at 9:00am

Mon, Mar 15, 9:00am - 9:00pm
Registration opens Monday, March 8 2021 at 9:00am

Mon, Mar 15, 9:00am - 9:00pm
Registration opens Monday, March 8 2021 at 9:00am

Mon, Mar 15, 9:00am - 9:00pm
Registration opens Monday, March 8 2021 at 9:00am

Mon, Mar 15, 11:00am - 11:30am

Mon, Mar 15, 3:00pm - 3:30pm
Zoom Programming 1
Registration opens Saturday, March 6 2021 at 9:00am

Tue, Mar 16, 11:00am - 11:30am
Zoom Programming 1
Registration opens Tuesday, March 9 2021 at 9:00am

Tue, Mar 16, 4:00pm - 5:15pm
Zoom

Tue, Mar 16, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Zoom Programming 1

Wed, Mar 17, 11:00am - 11:30am

Thu, Mar 18, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Zoom Programming 1

Fri, Mar 19, 11:00am - 11:30am

Sat, Mar 20, All day
Registration opens Saturday, March 13 2021 at 9:00am

Sat, Mar 20, 2:00pm - 2:45pm
Zoom Programming 1
Registration opens Saturday, March 6 2021 at 9:00am

Mon, Mar 22, 1:00pm - 7:00pm
Porter Room

Mon, Mar 22, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Zoom

Tue, Mar 23, 11:00am - 11:30am
Zoom Programming 1
Registration opens Tuesday, March 16 2021 at 9:00am

Wed, Mar 24, 11:00am - 11:30am

Wed, Mar 24, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Zoom Programming 1

Wed, Mar 24, 6:30pm - 7:00pm
Zoom Programming 1
Registration opens Wednesday, March 17 2021 at 9:00am

Thu, Mar 25, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Zoom Programming 1

Fri, Mar 26, 11:00am - 11:30am

Fri, Mar 26, 4:00pm - 4:45pm
Zoom Programming 1
Registration opens Friday, March 12 2021 at 9:00am

Sat, Mar 27, 11:00am - 11:30am
Zoom Programming 1
Registration opens Saturday, March 20 2021 at 9:00am