close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

One Community Reads: Book Discussion & Creator Visit (LIVE)

"March: Book One" by John Lewis

2020-10-13 19:00:00 2020-10-13 20:45:00 America/New_York One Community Reads: Book Discussion & Creator Visit (LIVE) Westlake Porter Public Library

Tuesday, October 13
7:00pm - 8:45pm

Add to Calendar 2020-10-13 19:00:00 2020-10-13 20:45:00 America/New_York One Community Reads: Book Discussion & Creator Visit (LIVE) As a continued precaution to prevent the spread of COVID-19, this book discussion will be held on Zoom. Digital copies of the book are available on Hoopla. Registration required. Instructions below. Westlake Porter Public Library

As a continued precaution to prevent the spread of COVID-19, this book discussion will be held on Zoom. Digital copies of the book are available on Hoopla. Registration required. Instructions below.

[This book club meets every second Tuesday of the month at 7 pm]

cover of March: Book One by John LewisJoin us in conversation with local comic book creator Abdul Rashid as we discuss the graphic novel March: Book One by John Lewis

"Book One spans John Lewis' youth in rural Alabama, his life-changing meeting with Martin Luther King, Jr., the birth of the Nashville Student Movement, and their battle to tear down segregation through nonviolent lunch counter sit-ins, building to a stunning climax on the steps of City Hall. Many years ago, John Lewis and other student activists drew inspiration from the 1958 comic book Martin Luther King and the Montgomery Story. Now, his own comics bring those days to life for a new audience, testifying to a movement whose echoes will be heard for generations."

---

author Abdul H. RashidAbdul H. Rashid, a native of Flint, MI, is an illustrator, creator, and developer of intellectual properties in the genres of superhero, sci-fi, action-adventure and horror concepts. Having been a student of the Interlochen Arts Camp and thru self-taught regiment, he has worked to develop an incorporation of strong fine-arts skill set within his comic book visual story-telling. Also, utilizing the BA and MBA educational insight gained from the College of Wooster and University of Phoenix, respectively, to infuse strong sociopolitical narrative into layered story-arc content.

As CEO/Founder of AHR Visions, LLC, a trans-media pop-culture studio, he looks to inject a new catalog of fresh, diverse and exciting titles that reflect the very colorful society we live in everyday. Using comics as the primary platform to tell an array of stories, Rashid and AHRV are targeting all areas of media stages to present to an ever expansive target audience with a catalog that spotlights diverse characters and inclusive elements outside the industry's “traditional blueprint”, while holding true to the integrity of the genre.

Rashid’s work has been featured in a number of independent works as well as MARVEL distributed series. He is currently collaborating with an assortment of other incredibly talented studios and artists in New York, California and other locations on original creator-owned properties. Rashid is based in NE Ohio and looks to add to a generating Mid-West entertainment hub.

---

In order to participate, please REGISTER to get an invitation to the online book discussion on Zoom. You can join using a Desktop, Laptop, Mobile Phone, Tablet, or Chromebook. While it is not necessary to sign up for a free Zoom account, for best results we recommend DOWNLOADING Zoom Meeting Room Client (for desktops and laptops) or the Zoom Cloud Meetings App (from your phone or tablet app store) before our discussion. Downloading should take a few minutes. Participants without a computer, tablet or smartphone can join the discussion using a traditional phone.

For those who are unable to get a physical copy of the book, please visit Hoopla Digital to sign up for an account using your WPPL library card. This will allow you to borrow and download March: Book One by John Lewis.

If you have any questions, please email: frances.brawner@westlakelibrary.org


This event is part of the One Community Reads: Racial Equity in America program. Your nine local library systems invite you to participate in Northeast Ohio’s largest book club, One Community Reads: Racial Equity in America, throughout August—December 2020. The program will allow readers to learn about and reflect on race, history, and a more just future locally and nationally. Please learn more and get involved at onecommunityreads.org.

AGE GROUP: | Teens | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | Books and Authors |

TAGS: | |

Westlake Porter Public Library

Phone: (440) 871-2600
Fax: (440) 871-6969

Hours
Mon, Sep 21 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Sep 22 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Sep 23 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Sep 24 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Fri, Sep 25 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Sep 26 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Sep 27 1:00PM to 5:00PM
Mon, Sep 21 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Sep 22 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Sep 23 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Sep 24 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Fri, Sep 25 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Sep 26 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Sep 27 1:00PM to 5:00PM

About the library

Westlake Porter Public Library is an independent public library serving the residents of the city of Westlake, western Cuyahoga County and eastern Lorain County. The library is located at 27333 Center Ridge Road in Westlake, Ohio. Anyone who lives, works, owns property, or goes to school in Ohio can register for a free library card.

Upcoming events

Sun, Sep 27, 1:00pm - 5:00pm
Registration is now closed

Mon, Sep 28, 9:00am - 9:00pm

Mon, Sep 28, 11:00am - 11:30am

Mon, Sep 28, 1:00pm - 7:00pm
Porter Room

Tue, Sep 29, 11:00am - 11:30am
Zoom

Wed, Sep 30, 11:00am - 11:30am

Wed, Sep 30, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Zoom

Wed, Sep 30, 6:30pm - 7:00pm
Zoom

Thu, Oct 01, 11:00am - 11:30am

Thu, Oct 01, 1:00pm - 7:00pm
Porter Room

Thu, Oct 01, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Zoom

Fri, Oct 02, All day
This event is full

Sat, Oct 03, 9:00am - 12:00pm
Parking Lot

Sat, Oct 03, 11:00am - 11:30am
Zoom

Sun, Oct 04, 2:00pm - 2:30pm
Zoom

Mon, Oct 05, 9:00am - 8:00pm

Tue, Oct 06, 9:00am - 9:00pm

Tue, Oct 06, 11:00am - 11:30am
Zoom
Registration opens Tuesday, September 29 2020 at 9:00am

Tue, Oct 06, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Zoom

Rescheduled
Tue, Oct 06, 7:00pm - 8:15pm
New date Tuesday, August 11, 7:00pm - 8:15pm

Tue, Oct 06, 7:00pm - 8:15pm

Wed, Oct 07, 11:00am - 11:30am

Wed, Oct 07, 6:30pm - 7:00pm
Zoom

Wed, Oct 07, 7:00pm - 8:00pm

Thu, Oct 08, 11:00am - 11:30am

Thu, Oct 08, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Zoom

Fri, Oct 09, All day
Registration opens Friday, October 2 2020 at 9:00am

Fri, Oct 09, 9:00am - 6:00pm

Fri, Oct 09, 11:00am - 11:30am

Sat, Oct 10, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Zoom

Sun, Oct 11, 2:00pm - 2:45pm
Zoom
Registration opens Sunday, October 4 2020 at 9:00am

Mon, Oct 12, 9:00am - 8:00pm

Mon, Oct 12, 11:00am - 11:30am

Mon, Oct 12, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Zoom

Tue, Oct 13, 11:00am - 11:30am
Registration opens Tuesday, October 6 2020 at 9:00am

Tue, Oct 13, 5:30pm - 8:30pm
Porter Room

Tue, Oct 13, 6:00pm - 9:00pm

Wed, Oct 14, 11:00am - 11:30am

Wed, Oct 14, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
Zoom

Wed, Oct 14, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Zoom

Wed, Oct 14, 6:30pm - 7:00pm
Zoom
Registration opens Wednesday, October 7 2020 at 9:00am

Thu, Oct 15, 11:00am - 11:30am

Thu, Oct 15, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Zoom

Thu, Oct 15, 5:30pm - 8:30pm
Dover Room

Fri, Oct 16, 4:00pm - 4:45pm
Zoom

Sat, Oct 17, All day
Registration opens Saturday, October 10 2020 at 9:00am

Canceled
Sat, Oct 17, 9:30am - 11:30am

Sat, Oct 17, 11:00am - 11:30am
Zoom

Sat, Oct 17, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Zoom

Mon, Oct 19, 9:00am - 9:00pm

Mon, Oct 19, 9:00am - 8:00pm

Mon, Oct 19, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
This event is full

Tue, Oct 20, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Zoom

Tue, Oct 20, 7:00pm - 10:00pm

Canceled
Wed, Oct 21, 11:00am - 11:30am

Wed, Oct 21, 11:00am - 11:30am

Wed, Oct 21, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
Zoom

Wed, Oct 21, 6:30pm - 8:45pm
Board Room

Thu, Oct 22, 11:00am - 11:30am

Thu, Oct 22, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Zoom

Fri, Oct 23, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Zoom

Sat, Oct 24, 11:00am - 11:40am
Zoom

Mon, Oct 26, 9:00am - 8:00pm

Mon, Oct 26, 9:00am - 9:00pm

Mon, Oct 26, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Oct 27, 9:00am - 9:00pm