close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Moralists in Disguise

Mark Twain Meets the Twilight Zone

2020-08-19 19:00:00 2020-08-19 20:00:00 America/New_York Moralists in Disguise Westlake Porter Public Library

Wednesday, August 19
7:00pm - 8:00pm

Add to Calendar 2020-08-19 19:00:00 2020-08-19 20:00:00 America/New_York Moralists in Disguise What do Mark Twain and Rod Serling have in common? Join author and actor Mark Dawidziak for a fascinating online program to find out! Westlake Porter Public Library

What do Mark Twain and Rod Serling have in common? Join author and actor Mark Dawidziak for a fascinating online program to find out!

"Moralists in Disguise" explores the many intriguing personal and professional parallels between Mark Twain and Rod Serling, two authors with profound connections to both Ohio and upstate New York. Both writers lived and worked in Cincinnati as young men. Both writers would retreat to upstate New York each summer with their families – Twain to Quarry Farm in Elmira, Serling to a cabin on Cayuga Lake. Both were internationally recognized celebrities (rare for a writer). But those are just a few of the many fascinating points of comparison linking these two iconic American writers. Most importantly, each became master of form he used to disguise moral lessons -- humor for Twain and fantasy for Serling.

find in the catalogfind in the catalogMark Dawidziak is the author of Everything I Need to Know I Learned in The Twilight Zone, first published in hardcover by St. Martin's Press in 2017. The paperback edition, with three new chapters, was just published. His many other books include five about Mark Twain: Mark My Words: Mark Twain on Writing, Horton Foote's The Shape of the River: The Lost Teleplay About Mark Twain, Mark Twain's Guide to Diet, Exercise, Beauty, Fashion, Investment, Romance, Health and Happiness, Mark Twain in Ohio and Mark Twain for Cat Lovers. He has been portraying Mark Twain on stage for 40 years. He also is the author of two acclaimed books about landmark television series: The Columbo Phile: A Casebook and The Night Stalker Companion. His most recent book, The Shawshank Redemption Revealed, looks at the history and the impact of the beloved film based on the Stephen King story.

Please note: this program will be hosted on Zoom.  Registration is required in order to attend.  Clicking on the Register button on the left will take you to the Zoom to register for the program.

AGE GROUP: | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | Books and Authors |

TAGS: | |

Westlake Porter Public Library

Phone: (440) 871-2600
Fax: (440) 871-6969

Hours
Mon, Aug 03 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Aug 04 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Aug 05 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Aug 06 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Fri, Aug 07 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Aug 08 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Aug 09 1:00PM to 5:00PM
Mon, Aug 03 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Aug 04 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Aug 05 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Aug 06 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Fri, Aug 07 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Aug 08 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Aug 09 1:00PM to 5:00PM

About the library

Westlake Porter Public Library is an independent public library serving the residents of the city of Westlake, western Cuyahoga County and eastern Lorain County. The library is located at 27333 Center Ridge Road in Westlake, Ohio. Anyone who lives, works, owns property, or goes to school in Ohio can register for a free library card.

Upcoming events

Fri, Aug 07, 11:00am - 11:30am

Canceled
Mon, Aug 10, 7:00pm - 8:00pm

Tue, Aug 11, 11:00am - 11:30am

Rescheduled
Tue, Aug 11, 7:00pm - 8:15pm
New date Tuesday, October 06, 7:00pm - 8:15pm

Tue, Aug 11, 7:00pm - 8:15pm

Wed, Aug 12, 11:00am - 11:30am

Wed, Aug 12, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Zoom

Wed, Aug 12, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Zoom

Thu, Aug 13, 11:00am - 11:30am

Thu, Aug 13, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Zoom

Fri, Aug 14, 9:00am - 6:00pm

Fri, Aug 14, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Aug 18, 11:00am - 11:30am

Wed, Aug 19, 11:00am - 11:30am

Rescheduled
Wed, Aug 19, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
New date Wednesday, August 26, 7:00pm - 8:00pm

Thu, Aug 20, 11:00am - 11:30am

Thu, Aug 20, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Zoom

Fri, Aug 21, 11:00am - 11:30am

Fri, Aug 21, 3:00pm - 3:45pm
Zoom
Registration opens Friday, August 14 2020 at 9:00am

Sat, Aug 22, 11:00am - 11:30am
Zoom
Registration opens Saturday, August 15 2020 at 9:00am

Mon, Aug 24, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Zoom

Tue, Aug 25, 9:00am - 9:00pm

Tue, Aug 25, 11:00am - 11:30am

Wed, Aug 26, All day
Registration opens Wednesday, August 12 2020 at 9:00am

Thu, Aug 27, 11:00am - 11:30am

Thu, Aug 27, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Zoom

Fri, Aug 28, 11:00am - 11:30am

Sat, Aug 29, 11:00am - 11:30am
Zoom
Registration opens Saturday, August 22 2020 at 9:00am

Mon, Aug 31, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Sep 01, 9:00am - 9:00pm

Tue, Sep 01, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Sep 01, 7:00pm - 9:00pm
Porter Room

Wed, Sep 02, 11:00am - 11:30am

Wed, Sep 02, 6:30pm - 8:00pm

Thu, Sep 03, 11:00am - 11:30am

Thu, Sep 03, 1:00pm - 7:00pm
Porter Room

Fri, Sep 04, 11:00am - 11:30am