close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Moralists in Disguise

Mark Twain Meets the Twilight Zone

2020-08-19 19:00:00 2020-08-19 20:00:00 America/New_York Moralists in Disguise What do Mark Twain and Rod Serling have in common? Join author and actor Mark Dawidziak for a fascinating online program to find out! Westlake Porter Public Library

Wednesday, August 19
7:00pm - 8:00pm

Add to Calendar 2020-08-19 19:00:00 2020-08-19 20:00:00 America/New_York Moralists in Disguise What do Mark Twain and Rod Serling have in common? Join author and actor Mark Dawidziak for a fascinating online program to find out! Westlake Porter Public Library

What do Mark Twain and Rod Serling have in common? Join author and actor Mark Dawidziak for a fascinating online program to find out!

"Moralists in Disguise" explores the many intriguing personal and professional parallels between Mark Twain and Rod Serling, two authors with profound connections to both Ohio and upstate New York. Both writers lived and worked in Cincinnati as young men. Both writers would retreat to upstate New York each summer with their families – Twain to Quarry Farm in Elmira, Serling to a cabin on Cayuga Lake. Both were internationally recognized celebrities (rare for a writer). But those are just a few of the many fascinating points of comparison linking these two iconic American writers. Most importantly, each became master of form he used to disguise moral lessons -- humor for Twain and fantasy for Serling.

find in the catalogfind in the catalogMark Dawidziak is the author of Everything I Need to Know I Learned in The Twilight Zone, first published in hardcover by St. Martin's Press in 2017. The paperback edition, with three new chapters, was just published. His many other books include five about Mark Twain: Mark My Words: Mark Twain on Writing, Horton Foote's The Shape of the River: The Lost Teleplay About Mark Twain, Mark Twain's Guide to Diet, Exercise, Beauty, Fashion, Investment, Romance, Health and Happiness, Mark Twain in Ohio and Mark Twain for Cat Lovers. He has been portraying Mark Twain on stage for 40 years. He also is the author of two acclaimed books about landmark television series: The Columbo Phile: A Casebook and The Night Stalker Companion. His most recent book, The Shawshank Redemption Revealed, looks at the history and the impact of the beloved film based on the Stephen King story.

Please note: this program will be hosted on Zoom.  Registration is required in order to attend.  Clicking on the Register button on the left will take you to the Zoom to register for the program.

TAGS: | Books and Authors |

Westlake Porter Public Library

Phone: (440) 871-2600
Fax: (440) 871-6969

Hours
Mon, Nov 23 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Nov 24 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Nov 25 9:00AM to 5:00PM
(Thanksgiving Eve)
Thu, Nov 26 Closed
(Thanksgiving Day)
Fri, Nov 27 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Nov 28 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Nov 29 1:00PM to 5:00PM
Mon, Nov 23 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Nov 24 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Nov 25 9:00AM to 5:00PM
(Thanksgiving Eve)
Thu, Nov 26 Closed
(Thanksgiving Day)
Fri, Nov 27 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Nov 28 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Nov 29 1:00PM to 5:00PM

About the branch

Westlake Porter Public Library is an independent public library serving the residents of the city of Westlake, western Cuyahoga County and eastern Lorain County. The library is located at 27333 Center Ridge Road in Westlake, Ohio. Anyone who lives, works, owns property, or goes to school in Ohio can register for a free library card.

Upcoming events

Fri, Nov 27, 9:00am - 10:00am
Zoom Programming 2

Fri, Nov 27, 4:00pm - 4:30pm

Sat, Nov 28, 9:00am - 6:00pm
This event is full

Mon, Nov 30, 9:00am - 8:00pm

Tue, Dec 01, 11:00am - 11:30am
Zoom

Wed, Dec 02, 11:00am - 11:30am

Wed, Dec 02, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Zoom

Wed, Dec 02, 6:30pm - 8:30pm

Thu, Dec 03, 9:00am - 9:00pm

Thu, Dec 03, 11:00am - 11:30am

Thu, Dec 03, 1:00pm - 7:00pm
Porter Room

Thu, Dec 03, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Zoom

Fri, Dec 04, 9:00am - 6:00pm
Registration opens Friday, November 27 2020 at 9:00am

Fri, Dec 04, 11:00am - 11:30am

Sat, Dec 05, 2:00pm - 2:45pm
Zoom

Sat, Dec 05, 4:00pm - 5:30pm
Zoom
This event is full

Mon, Dec 07, 9:00am - 8:00pm

Mon, Dec 07, 9:00am - 9:00pm
Registration opens Monday, November 30 2020 at 9:00am

Mon, Dec 07, 9:00am - 9:00pm

Mon, Dec 07, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Dec 08, 11:00am - 11:30am
Zoom
Registration opens Tuesday, December 1 2020 at 9:00am

Wed, Dec 09, All day

Wed, Dec 09, 6:30pm - 7:00pm
Zoom
Registration opens Wednesday, December 2 2020 at 9:00am

Thu, Dec 10, 11:00am - 11:30am

Thu, Dec 10, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Zoom

Fri, Dec 11, 11:00am - 11:30am

Fri, Dec 11, 4:00pm - 4:45pm
Zoom

Sat, Dec 12, 9:00am - 6:00pm
Registration opens Saturday, December 5 2020 at 9:00am

Sat, Dec 12, 9:00am - 6:00pm

Sat, Dec 12, 11:00am - 11:30am
Zoom
Registration opens Saturday, December 5 2020 at 9:00am

Sun, Dec 13, 1:00pm - 5:00pm
Registration opens Sunday, December 6 2020 at 9:00am

Mon, Dec 14, 9:00am - 8:00pm

Mon, Dec 14, 11:00am - 11:30am

Mon, Dec 14, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Zoom
Registration opens Monday, December 7 2020 at 9:00am

Tue, Dec 15, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Dec 15, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Zoom

Wed, Dec 16, 11:00am - 11:30am

Wed, Dec 16, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Zoom

Wed, Dec 16, 6:30pm - 8:45pm
Board Room

Wed, Dec 16, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Zoom

Thu, Dec 17, 11:00am - 11:30am

Thu, Dec 17, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Zoom

Fri, Dec 18, 11:00am - 11:30am

Fri, Dec 18, 4:00pm - 4:30pm

Fri, Dec 18, 4:30pm - 5:00pm
Zoom
Registration opens Friday, December 11 2020 at 9:00am

Sun, Dec 20, 2:00pm - 2:30pm
Zoom

Mon, Dec 21, 9:00am - 9:00pm

Mon, Dec 21, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Dec 22, 11:00am - 11:30am

Wed, Dec 23, 11:00am - 11:30am

Sat, Dec 26, 9:00am - 6:00pm